NAVRATRI – The nine nights of celebration & devotion !

by Pandas Box on Apr 12, 2024

NAVRATRI – The nine nights of celebration & devotion !


Navratri, the nine-day festival dedicated to the worship of Goddess Durga, represents various aspects of feminine energy and symbolizes the victory of good over evil. Let’s explore each night dedicated to the worship of a different form of Goddess Durga, known as Navadurga or the nine manifestations of Durga.

DAY 01- Pratipada- Shailaputri Devi

Shailaputri devi worshipped on the first night also known as Sati, Bhavani, Parvati & Hemavati. She is revered as the daughter of the Mountain King Himavat and represents the pure form of Goddess Parvati. In Hindu mythology, she is believed to be a reincarnation of Goddess Sati, the first wife of Lord Shiva.

DAY 02-Dwitiya-Brahmacharini Devi

The second day of Navratri honors Goddess Brahmacharini, who ardently practiced penance to win Lord Shiva's hand in marriage. She is revered in her unmarried form, holding prayer beads and a kamandalu (water vessel), adorned in white attire. Devotees offer white flowers and garments, as white is her cherished color.

DAY 03-Tritya-Chandraghanta Devi

On the third day of Navratri, Goddess Chandraghanta is worshipped. She represents the wedded aspect of Goddess Parvati. Upon marrying Lord Shiva, she adorned her forehead with a crescent moon, earning her the name Chandraghanta. She rides a tigress and possesses eight hands holding various symbols including a discus, a mace, prayer beads, a water vessel, a lotus flower, a bow, an arrow, and a pot. She is renowned for her battles against malevolent forces across the cosmos.

DAY 04-Chaturthi-Kushmanda devi

On the fourth day of Navratri, Devi Kushmanda is worshipped as she is the creator of the universe, wielding the power to initiate new creations and govern all energies. Riding on a lioness, she is also called Aadi Mata, the ultimate mother responsible for the universe's genesis. Devotees seek her blessings for wealth, fame, and prosperity.

Day 05-Panchami-Skandamata Devi

On the fifth day of Navratri, Devi Skandamata is worshipped. With four arms, she cradles a lotus in two hands, while holding her son, little Skanda or Kartikay, on her lap with one right hand. Lord Skanda is portrayed as having six heads, resembling Shanmukha's form.Her other right-hand gestures in Abhaya Mudra, warding off fears and evil. The name Skandamata originates from her son Kartikeya, also known as Skanda, signifying her role as his mother, the offspring of Lord Shiva and the divine warrior.

Day 06-Shashthi-Katyayani Devi

The sixth day of Navratri is dedicated to Devi Katyayani. She transformed into this form to defeat the demon Mahisasura. She rides a lion and is depicted with four, ten, or eighteen hands. She gets her name from her father, Sage Katyaayan. Legend has it that she was born as his daughter due to his deep devotion to Goddess Durga. Worshippers seek her blessings to cleanse their sins and achieve material prosperity.

Day 07-Sapatami-Kalaratri Devi

On the seventh day, known as Saptami, devotees honor the fierce form of Goddess Durga known as Kalaratri. Legend has it that she relinquished her golden complexion to defeat demons. Kalaratri is depicted with a dark complexion and four arms. According to Hindu mythology, Kalaratri Devi's fierce form emerged when the gods sought protection from the demon Raktabija. She waged a relentless battle against the demon and his army, ultimately defeating them and restoring peace to the universe.

DAY 08-Ashtami-Mahagauri Devi

On the eighth day of Navratri, Goddess Mahagauri is revered. Her name, which means "extremely bright" or "bright like the moon," reflects her radiant nature. Mounted on a white bull, she wears solely white attire and is also referred to as Shwetambardhara. Devotees seek her blessings for prosperity and health, as well as guidance towards spiritual liberation.

DAY 09-Navami-Siddhidatri Devi

Siddhidatri Devi, worshipped on the ninth night, is the bestower of Siddhis (supernatural powers) and represents ultimate perfection.Seated on a lotus flower, she is accompanied by her lion mount. With four hands, she holds a mace in one right hand, a discus in the other right hand, a lotus flower in one left hand, and a conch shell in the other left hand. She is worshipped as the embodiment of Siddhis (spiritual accomplishments) and the bestower of blessings upon her devotees.


Introduce your children to the nine forms of Ma Durga and the essence of Navratri with our mantra-chanting Devi Durga plush toy. Designed to initiate kids into the legends of Hindu mythology, these toys can be a delightful way for them to explore and engage with the festive spirit. Bring one home today and watch as they create their own magic during this auspicious time.